Singing, “Gonna wash that cadaver smell right outta my hair!”

I’m in my fourth week of medical school, and it suddenly occurred to me that there are all these strange and neat things I’m learning and seeing everyday, but in a few years I won’t remember the most of it.  Sure, I’ll remember the physiology and anatomy – I’ll have no other choice – but what about Dr. O showing us all a picture of a wild, angry bear during the lecture of the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system and saying, “And that’s how the feminists are feeling after hearing about Sarah Palin’s nomination!”

In other words, I also want to remember the stuff that isn’t in the books.

Today’s memory: did you know that sometimes the cadavers are so juicy that it’s necessary to use a turkey baster to suck out the liquid filling the bottom of the thoracic cavity?

Well, now I know that, and so do you!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

